Bill 64 - Noah and Gregory's Law

PAD ACTION ALERT! THE NOAH AND GREGORY’S LAW

Please contact the standing committee members listed now to end the Passport waitlist. Use the template letter (below) or create your own.  Please copy MPP Lisa Gretzky at lgretzky-qp@ndp.on.ca

Kaleed Rasheed: kaleed.rasheed@pc.ola.org

Will Bouma: willbouma@pc.ola.org

Paul Calandra: paulcalandra@pcola.org

Lorne Coe: lorne.coe@pc.ola.org

Stephen Crawford: Stephen.crawford@pc.ola.org

Mitzie Hunter; mhunter.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org

Laura Mae lindo: LLindo-QP@ndp.on.ca

Paul Miller: pmiller-qp@ndp.on.ca

Billy Pang: billypang@pc.ola.org

Amarjot Sandu: amarjot.sandu@pc.ola.org

Jamie West: JWest-QP@ndp.on.ca

 Click HERE to be redirected to the website to learn more about:

Bill 64, Noah and Gregory's Law (Transition to Adult Developmental Services and Supports), 2019

 

Dear Members of the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills,

As Ontarians, we have a proud history of being a caring and compassionate community. We take it upon ourselves to look in on each other and look out for each other. This letter is written on behalf of our disabilities community. It is our invitation to join the ranks of families whose adult children upon their 18th birthdays are cut off from their childhood supports, to then be put on 2-5 years-long waitlists for adult supports. This stark reality leaves us, them, and their families, suffering with overwhelming physical, financial and emotional distress. We are ALL in crisis situations. We ask you to actively support the amendment to the Services and Supports to Promote the Social Inclusion of Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act of 2008. It is known as Noah and Gregory’s Law (Transition to Adult Developmental Services and Supports) 2018. Noah and Gregory’s Law passed Second Reading with all-party, unanimous support on February 21, 2019, and was referred to your committee. I am asking that you please call up Noah and Gregory’s Law for study as soon as possible, so that can then move on to Third Reading expeditiously. Please be a champion alongside the thousands of families affected. There are approximately 40,000 people living with developmental disabilities in Ontario and there are approximately 14,000 adults on the Passport funding waitlist in Ontario. This bill will bring relief to families. If Noah and Gregory’s Law passes, as our children turn 18 years of age, they will celebrate a new reality in which they will no longer be cut off of their supports. They will continue to be involved in their communities and live as independently as possible. Their families will no longer be abandoned to fend for themselves, thereby continuing to contribute to their young adult’s quality of life. Noah and Gregory’s Law will help us take care of Ontario’s most vulnerable citizens, and end family despair. Please do everything you can to ensure that this bill is studied and referred back for Third Reading as soon as possible. I look forward to your prompt reply.

Sincerely, Name: _______________

Contact information: _______________


 

Get Involved
JOIN TBFN TODAY BECOME A MEMBER PARTNERS FOR PLANNING